Boehm’s Candies, Inc. uses Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Eggs, Soybeans, Peanuts, Sulfites, Milk, certain Food Colors, etc. along with other ingredients in manufacturing.

Unfortunately, Boehm’s Candies cannot guarantee that any product produced or offered for sale has not come into contact with a particular ingredient.

We value your patronage; however, we cannot take responsibility for any reaction that the environment at Boehm’s Candies, Inc. or our products may cause. Ultimately, it is the customer’s responsibility to protect their own health and welfare.

Gluten Statement

Boehm’s Candies no longer uses wheat flour as a releasing agent in our production, however we do carry several items that contain wheat flour.

Items containing wheat flour as an ingredient are:

  • Malt balls
  • Bridge Mix (malt balls/pretzels mixed in)
  • French Cookie Truffle Sheet
  • Oreos
  • Rice Crispie Treats
  • Liquorice
  • Any broken candies containing the cookie bits
  • Dog Bones

 

We produce all of our candies on the same equipment, so even though a particular item may not have wheat flour as an ingredient, it may have come into contact with wheat flour. Because of this, we cannot guarantee that any of our candies are gluten free.

In addition, many of the suppliers of our raw ingredients state that their product may have come into contact with wheat flour even if wheat flour is not used as an ingredient.

Note: In the past, wheat flour was used as a releasing agent (example: before a caramel center was poured out onto the table, wheat flour would be sprinkled on the table to prevent the caramel from sticking), however we currently use rice flour or cornstarch in production.

Dairy-Free

In making our blend of dark chocolate, we use several different varieties. Some of these varieties contain milk products, so Boehm’s Candies does not produce any confections that are dairy-free.

Our current line of single origin dark chocolates (55% or higher) do not contain milk as an ingredient; however the manufacturer has a disclaimer stating that the chocolate was processed on equipment previously used to process milk chocolate (as we also do in production when molding this chocolate).

Dairy Free products that we do carry in our retail store are:

  • Creamsicles
  • Cocomels
  • Gummy Candies
  • Artificial Flavors

 

With the exception of our single origin Fortunato No. 4 68% (Ingredients: cocoa mass, cane sugar, cocoa butter), and the Hawaiian origin chocolates (flavored with vanilla beans), the chocolate used in our candies contains vanillin, which is an artificial flavor. Therefore, Boehm’s Candies does not produce any confections not containing artificial flavors.

Diet Candy

Boehm’s Candies does not produce any diet or low fat candies.

Soy Lecithin

All chocolate used by Boehm’s Candies contains soy lecithin as an ingredient; therefore all chocolates have soy lecithin. Non chocolate products such as the Pecan Log and Brittles, as well as our single origin Fortunato No. 4 68% chocolate, do not have soy lecithin as an ingredient, but since we manufacture all of our products on the same equipment, there is always the chance of cross contact.

Sugar Free

The sugar free products that we carry are sweetened with Maltitol, which is a natural starch based sweetener.

Sulfites

All candies containing fruits may have sulfites. This includes: Ginger, Arancini, Cordial Cherries, Apricots, Fruit Flavored Buttercreams, Strawberry & Raspberry Truffles and Orange & Raspberry Jells.

Eggs

Boehm’s Candies uses powdered egg whites in its coconut chew and nougat (found in the American Classic and Nuts & Chews gift boxes). We produce all of our candies on the same equipment, so even though a particular item may not have egg as an ingredient, it may have come into contact with eggs. Because of this, we cannot guarantee that any of our candies are egg free.